Free! Where? Here?

Posted: February 4, 2014 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Okay so everybody thinks wahoo the land of free medical!  Yes I live in Canada! The country of free universal healthcare. Well for some reason all of Canada is not created equal. Some groups of people have absolutely free medical, some groups don’t.

 

Lets look at the different provinces. Canada as a whole is supposed to provide its citizens free and equal access to quality medical services. Well some provinces like to charge its residence a “premium” for their access to the free universal service. British Columbia (where I live), Alberta and Ontario have felt they should charge people to access a nationally funded free service.  So in British Columbia to access the very same level of services the rest of country gets for free a family earning 30 000.00$ dollars per year must pay 1 662.00$ in medical premiums. Albertans pay…Hmmmm…seems that information is rather elusive on the internet. Why the secrecy Alberta? Oh well maybe one of my Alberta readers will chime in here with some rates. Quote a family of three or more please. According to the information I found on the rate in Ontario for a household taxable income of 30 000.00$ they would pay 300$ for the same care as we get in British Columbia for over 5 times the rate.

 

Shouldn’t a program that is paid for by taxes be the same all across Canada. I do not understand why we pay “premiums” in some provinces. I could understand if we received free dental or free prescriptions or shorter wait times for procedures than the provinces that don’t charge premiums. When I hear the word premium I get a vision in my head of better service. You know, like  a private concierge or a shorter passholders quay. But I have a hard paying extra for the exact same thing everyone else gets for free.

 

As a person who in not employed by a company with extended medical plans. I have no help on non medical programs like dental or message therapy. So I pay out-of-pocket one hundred percent of those needs. So when something comes up like say oh I don’t know a tooth extraction for a crown. I go out of country. In Canada an implant with crown can cost between 4200.00$ and 6000.00$… so I went to Mexico. Yup Mexico!! The service and workmanship are awesome and I got the all done for about 1300.00$. So if you factor in a last-minute deal to Cancun from Vancouver at about 1200.00$ twice, once for the implant and then 3 months later for the crown. That equals 3700.00$ all totalled. Can you believe that. I can get in two one week vacations and my dental work done to the same standards as they are in Canada for less money than the cheapest average cost of an implant/crown work here. So being that I have a condition where I needed several done you can quickly see my savings.

 

Yes one must shop around and find recommendations but there are excellent competent dentists down there at a fraction of the cost as the same qualified dentists up here. If you message me I would gladly give you the contact info the dentist used. I have heard of other places in the world offering medical tourism. Again there are good and bad practitioners everywhere, I mean look at the malpractice suits here. So be thorough in your investigation and go confidently and enjoy your tropical recovery locales.

 

To join me in my wealth generation click here.

I will win

Leave a Reply

