Get Fit Not Sick

Posted: January 14, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

I read an interesting article last night. It was about the perils of working out. The story was published to help people who have decided to get into shape this year as part of their New Year’s resolution. If you are one the millions of out of shape people out there that made that very resolution you may want to continue reading.

So firstly, we should clarify that the decision to get into shape is a very good idea. It is the best thing you can do for yourself and your family. However, one needs to be careful, don’t want anybody getting hurt trying to get fit. I am not talking about aches and pains or bumps and bruise either. This article talked of a serious but very treatable potential kidney problem cause by the sudden workouts done in the context of good future health without due consideration of one current conditioning.

Let me explain, most of us have been very inactive since we left school. I mean be honest, when is the last time you played in an organized sports program, run in a race, rode a bike or even went for a brisk walk? Five years ago? Ten years ago? Even longer than that? Then all of a sudden over New Year’s out of the blue, you decide you’re an athlete and are going to hit the weights, start running or riding a bicycle. Well guess what, your body may not agree with you.

Apparently, as we hit our new regime full speed ahead we are potentially causing our bodies to react to this sudden fitness craze in a negative way. It can cause a condition known as Rhabdomyolysis. Rhabdomyolysis is a condition that can affect your kidneys. The symptoms generally associated with Rhabdomyolysis according to Health Canada, can include muscle pain, weakness, tenderness, fever, dark urine, nausea, and vomiting. In severe cases, Rhabdomyolysis can lead to kidney failure and be life-threatening. I am not trying to scare you off of exercise. Not in the least, however, I am cautioning you to ease into your new program. If it has been awhile since you have been active at all I would strongly recommend a visit your physician to discuss your fitness and dietary plans prior to starting.

I have eased myself into my programs, some may say I am still easing my way along, but you know what I have made a lifestyle adjustment so I have the rest of life to do what I do and I am a firm believer that slow and steady wins the race. I would recommend a free app for your Smartphone called couch to five kilometer. It is a very nice program to take you from your couch to running five kilometers in six weeks. I highly recommend it. Another awesome program if you haven’t done much exercise over the years is Thai Cheng by Beachbody, it is designed to be very low impact and focus on full and proper range of motion. I would so recommend just walking to get your body moving. You need to take small safe steps and then gradually but consistently increase duration and intensity as your body gets in better shape.

Always remember there is absolutely no benefit in hurting yourself. The best way to start a program is to get some form of instructional videos and follow along as best you can. It is even more beneficial if you can get at least one person to do it with you, that way you have a support buddy and also someone to hold you accountable. There are many to choose from, I personally like and use the programs provided by Beachbody as they offer complete programs from exercise to nutrition as well exceptional customer support via their exclusive coaching program.

So in closing I would like to say by all means please for yourself and for those you love and who love you get yourself back into shape, but do it right. Do it with care and caution, but do it consistently. All the best to you in your personal goals and if I can be of assistance in any way please do not hesitate to ask.

Leave a Reply

