It’s Not The Work That Kills The Man!

Posted: December 19, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

“It is not work that kills men, it is worry. Work is healthy; you can hardly put more on a man than he can bear. But worry is rust upon the blade. It is not movement that destroys the machinery, but friction.”

Henry Ward Beecher
1813-1887, Clergyman and Abolitionist

 

I really liked this quote when I seen it today. I thought, man that is so true. Work is good! Intellectual work is good for the mind while physical work is excellent exercise for the body. To be well rounded a person should do some of both every day.

I exercise my mine every day, I read to learn from inspirational and self improvements books every morning and night. I then get my quote for the day, such as the one above, that was the one received for today. I from time to time, throughout my day, will reflect on what I read as well as my quote.

With what I have read from my personal development books I try to apply it in my day somehow. Figure out how I can make it fit as part of my everyday life.  Some passages are easier than others but I do my best. My goal is to develop a better me. A better me will be a better father, spouse, friend etc.

I also reflect on the “quote for the day” that I subscribe to. I like to get them. It is an email I am eager to open and read every morning. Today’s was really relatable to me. I enjoy work and work is good for me and I look forward to my work. It’s the worry part of the quote that is the source of stress for so many people. So many people stress out about so much stuff all the time. Stress can actually cause physical ailments like heart attacks and strokes on the extreme end of the spectrum. But most people who worry too much can get stress sores (cold sores), insomnia, headaches even hypertension. I have even heard of people getting stress nose bleeds. So it is not a stretch for me to believe that it is the stress that kills the man (woman).

I have decided a long time ago, when I was broke, that all the stress in the world is never going to fix a thing. So I don’t do it period, end of stress! I used to worry about the light bill when it came in. I used to worry about being able to buy enough food and clothes when I started having children. What I found was that everything worked out if you worked on getting the end results. Sure I had the lights go off from time to time; sure I had to hit up the food bank once and a while back then. But we got through it, and worry did not have one iota of difference in the outcome, so I just decided not to do it any of my energy.

Back in the day, I just wanted to be in a position that if I needed milk two days before payday I could go buy it. That was a long ago now, but when that happened that was a real mile marker for me. Now we live different, way different, we eat well, we just about own our house, I never sweat a bill, we even holiday a couple times a year.  It is like night and day from where I come from. It was not easy, but it was consistent effort applied. Even in adversity, of which I had my share, I may have been dropped to my knee but I never gave up. Today, we are not rich, still far from it, but we are comfortable. I will get there, when I am ready. I am grateful for everything that I have in my life, even the setbacks, because without them the wins wouldn’t be as sweet. I believe it is my “let go” attitude and my personal development that has taken me where I am today and is going to take me where I am going. I will keep learning and improving because that seems to be the fuel for my machine in my journey.

May you find the fuel for your machine for your journey? It is definitely worth filling the tank!

Have an amazing day.

Cheers.

Leave a Reply

